March Updates!

DavidEnsminger2016a

Me, New Orleans, March 2016

Hello to the international punk-in-flux types like me who believe the genre is still running with strong strides, always casting itself as the people’s music! I just received word that the release dates for The Politics of Punk will be in August (don’t forget to ask me for a coupon), followed shorty thereafter by the book examining my hometown scene, Out of the Basement: Microcosm was psyched about the updated draft version, which is much expanded and riddled with copious details and anecdotes! I am planning some events for both books, so I will update you as concrete plans emerge.

UHzinefinalIn the meantime, if you live in the Houston vicinity, I would love to see you at my Zine Workshop I have been asked to organize at University of Houston-Clear Lake, in which I will discuss history, theory, and hands-on practice! Speaking of fanzines, Razorcake just printed my interview with Daniel Maskagon, who authored a excellent book about DIY punk spaces and house parties for Microcosm Press, in the newest issue, which just hit the stands. It features a really comprehensive overview of his own philosophies, plus a ton of frenzied photos right from the heart of endless underground America.

makagonrazorcake

Towards the end of April, I will be appearing with Dave Dictor of MDC at Vinal Edge in Houston, TX, where we will be celebrating the release of Going Underground, which I edited, and Dictor’s new text Memoirs of a Damaged Civilization, plus we will be raising funds to help John Stabb from Government Issue, who is being treated for cancer.

On the academic front, I have been fortunate to receive some attention twice these last few months. The book Ethnographic and Folkloristic Study of Popular Culture by DS Margolies spent a paragraph examining my study of punk flyers and subcultures Visual Vitriol in a very positive light; and in the East, the book Making Cultural Cities in Asia: Mobility, Assemblage… features an examination of my street art theory (also embedded in Visual Vitriol) in the chapter “Accessing Spaces, Negotiating Boundaries” by Joanne B.Y. Lim.

I appreciate their coverage and acknowledgement.

In the meantime, Happy Punk Rock Easter, David!

 

Leave a comment